2022 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team Announced


GREENSBORO, NC (theACC.com) –For the second year in a row, Clemson’s Jacob Bridgeman is the Atlantic Coast Conference Male Golf Athlete of the Year and headlines the sport’s 2022 All-ACC Academic Team announced Monday. The Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is named after Rod Myers, Duke’s men’s golf coach from 1973 to 2007.

A senior from Inman, South Carolina, Bridgeman was the individual medalist of the ACC Men’s Golf Championship in Panama City Beach, Florida, winning the title on the second hole of the playoffs against Peter Fountain in North Carolina . He shot rounds of 69, 66 and 68 during the three-day competition in stroke play to finish 13 under par and become the seventh Clemson player to win the individual medal. A second-team PING All-American, Bridgeman is only the second player in ACC history to win the league’s Athlete of the Year award in consecutive seasons since the introduction of the award in 2007. Bridgeman finished the year as the second highest college on the PGA Tour. ranking, which secures a place on the Korn Ferry Tour. He is second in Clemson history in career stroke average at 70.73 and has the most career rounds in the 60s with 50. Bridgeman has two individual tournament wins this year and his five career wins are tied for the most in Clemson history.

Ten of the 15 student-athletes who earned All-ACC honors this season also earned spots on the Academic Honors team, including Bridgeman and Freshman of the Year David Ford of North Carolina. Other players who have also earned All-ACC and All-ACC academic honors are: Ian Siebers of Duke, Frederik Kjettrup of Florida State, Bartley Forrester and Christo Lamprecht of Georgia Tech, Ryan Gerard of North Carolina, Maximilian Steinlechner of NC State, Notre Dame’s Palmer Jackson and Michel Brenan’s Wake Forest.

Duke, Florida State and Wake Forest led all programs with three golfers on the academy team.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were established in September 2007 to be presented annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.

The minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 cumulative grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative grade point average during one’s college career for undergraduates. Athletic accomplishments during the most recent season are also considered in All-ACC Academic Team selection.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all student-athletes in the conference with a 3.0 grade point average for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2022 Rod Myers Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson

2022 All-ACC Men’s Academic Golf Team
Mac Webster, Boston College, Sr., Finance
Jacob Bridgeman**, Clemson, Sr., Management
Zack Gordon**, Clemson, Jr., Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
Quinn Riley, Duke, Sr., Sociology
Ian Siebers**, Duke, So., Economics
Jimmy Zheng, Duke, So., Economics
Daniel Bradbury, Florida State, Sr., Masters in Sports Management
Frederik Kjettrup**, Florida State, So., Sports Management
Ryunosuke Sakane, Florida State, Sr., Masters: International Affairs
Bartley Forrester, Georgia Tech, Sr., Business Administration
Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech, So., Business Administration
Nicholas Tenuta, Louisville, Jr., Marketing
David Ford, North Carolina, Fr., Communications
Ryan Gerard**, North Carolina, Sr., Economics
Easton Paxton**, NC State, Gr., Sports and Entertainment Venue Management
Maximillian Steinlechner**, NC State, Jr., Business Administration
Palmer Jackson**, Notre Dame, Jr., Business Analytics
Taichi Kho**, Notre Dame, Sr., Marketing
Pietro Bovari**, Virginia, Jr., economics
George Duangmanee**, Virginia, So., Arts & Sciences
Daniel Azallion**, Virginia Tech, Jr., Commerce – Finance
Connor Burgess**, Virginia Tech, Sr., Commerce – Management
Michael Brennan**, Wake Forest, Jr., economics
Parker Gillam**, Wake Forest, Gr., Sustainable Development
Mark Power, Wake Forest, Jr., Communications

* indicates number of All-Academic Team honors

ACC Male Golf Scholar Athlete of the Year
2022 Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson
2021 Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson
2020 Not awarded due to COVID-19
2019 Alex Smalley, Duke
2018 Stephen Franken, North Carolina State
2017 Jimmy Stanger, Virginia
2016Stephen Behr, Clemson
2015Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech
2014 Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech
2013 Brinson Paolini, Duke
2012 James White, Georgia Tech
2011 James White, Georgia Tech
2010 Brendan Gielow, Wake Forest
2009 Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
2008 Barden Berry, North Carolina



Comments are closed.